Brian Richardson swept the entire NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model program during JACK FM Night at Kern County Raceway Park, fueled by Monster Energy, on Saturday night.  Richardson set quick time, won the trophy dash, and claimed both of the Twin 35 lap features on the half-mile speedway.

"It was a little bit of a workout out there," Richardson said.  "We had a heck of a night out here tonight.  These guys are no slouches that we are racing against!  I got to thank my guys.  We made changes all night last night with the heat and I've got the best guys in the pits right now!"

The first 35 lap feature saw Josh Horn led the opening eight laps of competition from the pole position.  The caution flag came out on lap eight for 15 year-old Racin Vernon spinning in turn two.

Richardson took advantage to storm from third into the lead on the restart and never look back for a 2.5 second victory over 2006 NASCAR Southwest Tour champion Rip Michels, Lance Wilson, 14 year-old Buddy Shepherd, and Horn.

In the second 35 lap affair, it was a closely wound battle with the top four cars running nose to tail for much of the race distance.  Wilson led the first 25 laps, fending off several strong charges up the inside from Richardson.

Richardson took his time and made the winning move stick for the lead on lap 26, before taking off to a 1.7 second victory.  Wilson battled with Shepherd for the remaining laps but held on to finish second with Shepherd third, ahead of Michels, and Taft's Cole Adamo.

Kenny Smith won a hotly contested 40 lap SRL S2 Tour Series feature, spinning across the finish line to end an exciting race.  Oak Hills rookie Nastasia Dodd led the first seven laps of the event before Smith took over on lap eight.  Fast time qualifier Brandon Weaver spun on lap 11, then charged through the field to take over second from Bakersfield's Blaine Perkins with two laps to go.

Weaver had Smith in his crosshairs and made a strong run up the inside in turn four to the checkered flag.  The two made contact, sending Smith spinning across the finish line behind Weaver.  Weaver was penalized to the end of the lead lap for the contact, surrendering the victory to Smith.

The INEX Legend feature served as a redemption race for young Weaver, scoring his second consecutive win with the division in the 30 lap contest.  The victory allowed Weaver to grow his points lead over Eric Olson and Eddie Garone.

Chad Actis had a great start to the race, leading the first 12 laps with Weaver snaking through from seventh starting position to take over on lap 13 and never look back.  Olson and Garone rounded out the top-three with 2013 grand opening race winner Brent Scheidmantle returning to KCRP to finish fourth.

Tyler Bannister won his third consecutive INEX Bandolero feature, passing Braden Rogers on lap 15 for the victory.  Rogers, 13 years-old, led the first 14 laps before loosing the lead in lapped traffic. A caution on lap 20 brought the field together but Bannister was able to motor away for the final five laps.  Rookie driver Kabe McClenny brought him a strong third place finish as well.

NASCAR Spec-Modified action was a war of attrition with three cars succumbing to mechanical failures in the first six laps.  Gary Dutton led the opening 13 laps in the race before loosing the lead to 2013 champion Chris Dalton.  Dalton went on for his third straight division victory in a green-white-checkered ahead of Dutton and Orcutt's Mark Allan.

Kern County Raceway Park continues next Saturday night with the Armed Forces 150 for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West along with NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Models for 50 laps and NASCAR Spec Modifieds as well.

Major marketing partners at Kern County Raceway Park include Budweiser, CITGO Lubricants, Monster Energy, Advance Beverage Company, Coca Cola, NAPA Auto Parts, DC's RV Center, Three-Way Chevrolet, and Whelen Engineering.

Kern County Raceway Park is online at  More information is available on Facebook at and on Twitter at

For marketing information on Kern County Raceway Park, contact Steven Blakesley by email at or by phone at (661) 835-1264, ext 3203

May 17, 2014 "JACK FM NIGHT" Feature Results
Kern County Raceway Park - Bakersfield, CA

NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model - 35 laps #1
1) 4 Brian Richardson, 2) 44 Rip Michels, 3) 15 Lance Wilson, 4) 22 Buddy Shepherd, 5) 13 Josh Horn, 6) 40 Cole Adamo, 7) 51 Racin Vernon, 8) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 9) 12 Hugh Stubblefield  17:00.164

NASCAR CITGO Lubricants Late Model - 35 laps #2
1) 4 Brian Richardson, 2) 15 Lance Wilson, 3) 22 Buddy Shepherd, 4) 44 Rip Michels, 5) 40 Cole Adamo, 6) 51 Racin Vernon, 7) 13 Josh Horn, 8) 1 Paul Ebersbacher, 9) 12 Hugh Stubblefield  11:29.822

NASCAR Spec Modified - 30 laps
1) 13 Chris Dalton, 2) 25 Gary Dutton, 3) 20 Mark Allan, 4) 8 Jim Coffey, 5) 5 Josh Combs, 6) 2 Brock Thompson 19:01.833

SRL S2 Tour Series - 40 laps
1) 43 Kenny Smith, 2) 50 Blaine Perkins, 3) 29 Cory Elliott, 4) 59 Johnny Butler, 5) 45 Dave Lowenstein, 6) 15 Brandon Weaver, 7) 81 Nastasia Dodd, 8) 77 Tom Stanton, 9) 44 Karon Lowenstein, 10) 4 Dylan Baker, 11) 99 Chris Morrison, 12) 0 Bill Water 19:52.254
INEX Legend - 30 laps
1) 15 Brandon Weaver, 2) 17 Eric Olson, 3) 31 Eddie Garone, 4) 98 Brent Scheidmantle, 5) 5 Garrett Fine, 6) 71 Josh Ayers, 7) 24 Colton Page, 8) 7 Mark Iungerich, 9) 80 Sonny Sparks, 10) 19 Chad Actis  10:43.193

INEX Bandolero - 25 laps
1) 51 Tyler Bannister, 2) 29 Braden Rogers, 3) 05 Kabe McClenny, 4) 97 Colby Furia, 5) 07 Troy Morris III, 6) 15 Sammy Nuno  8:30.565

Richardson Wins Citgo Late Model Double
Points Leader Rolling in 2014
Steven Blakesley - Kern County Raceway Park PR