On Saturday April 26 at Evergreen Speedway’s Open Road RV Night at the Races, Mike Holden returned to Super Late Model racing. Holden won the Emerald City Harley-Davidson of Lynnwood NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Model 75 on the 3/8-mile. The night had the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock division back in action and as he did in 2013 on his way to the division title, Roger Drake won his third in a row to start this season. Also back on track was the Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stock division and winning his second main in three starts was Bobby DeYoung. Devin Eirman won the Vintage Modified feature and Quenton Borreson won the Super Stock Figure 8 main. The weather held off just long enough that all divisions ran on a dry surface.  Five-minutes after the races ended the rain that had been hovering, started.

After a few years off from Super Late Model racing Mike Holden returned to Evergreen’s Super Late Model Division and let everyone know he was going to be the person to beat for the 2014 NASCAR Track and State of Washington Championship. Starting fifth after a second quick qualifying lap Holden wasted no time to get to the front and once there pulled away from the remainder of the field. Also making his debut as a contender for the championship Tyler Tanner finished second and last season’s champion Daniel Moore finished third. The fourth and fifth spots went to Andy Sole and Doni Wanat respectively. The 75-lap feature was marred by only one incident when on lap 15, Shane Sawin and four time champion Naima Lang tangled on the backstretch. Lang hit the inside protective barrier hard causing significant damage to his car. Both drivers were OK.  This division has a busy month of May ahead with another 75-lap feature on the 3/8-mile on May 10 and on May 24 they move onto the BIG track the 5/8-mile for the Mark Galloway 150.

Roger Drake is mimicking his 2013 season that brought him his first NASCAR Street Stock championship. In 2013 Drake opened the season with three straight wins and now has opened the 2014 campaign with three straight. If when the division returns to action on Saturday May 10 he finishes third as he did last season on his fourth start, it will get real eerie feeling. Second place last night went to Jim Foti and third to Steve Ptacek. Darrell Lutovsky and Mike Marthaller Jr. held the next two spots. There is a lot of racing to go this season so you cannot crown a champion just yet.

Mini-Stock racer Bobby DeYoung won his second main in his first three starts this season. DeYoung who volunteered his logging equipment and himself in the Oso, WA recovery mission has been able to take that emotion into the race car. Bobby is driving with a mission of his own. He is driving for his friends and neighbors that were lost in the massive landside. For the second race in a row second place went to Eric Whitaker. On the podium for the first time in his third season of racing was high school student Devin Kessler. Last race winner Trenton Moriarity finished fourth and Andrew Schukar finished fifth.

The traveling NW Vintage Modified Series made their first of three stops at Evergreen in 2014 and Devin Eirman took his newly purchased car to the checkers for the win in the 30-lap feature. Second place in his brother’s 1932 Studebaker was Chuck Peterson. Peterson had to borrow his brother’s car after his suffered mechanical problems earlier in the day. In third place was Scott Rinkel with fourth place it was Mike Clother and fifth Kyten Jones.

The newest division of racers is the Super Stock Figure 8’s and the ‘One Armed Bandit’ Quenton Borreson mastered the track with the ‘Planets Most Dangerous Intersection’. Getting the lead early in their 25-lap feature, Borreson showed his skill of driving with only one arm. Second went to Steve Peters and third to Chuck Widdis. Devin Jenkins and John Hilburn rounded out the top five finishers.

Next up at Evergreen Speedway: Saturday May 3 is the Buzz Inn Steakhouse Stinger 8 Nationals plus the Outlaw Figure 8’s, Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks, Renegades and Interstate Batteries Hornets all in action. Racing starts at 6pm with front gates opening at 4pm for the ‘Rain or Shine’ show. Remember the fans are protected by the covered grandstands at the Evergreen State Fairgrounds in Monroe. For more information and or tickets go to www.evergreenspeedway.com or call 360-805-6100.

Evergreen Speedway April 26 Open Road RV Night Official Results:

Emerald City Harley-Davidson of Lynnwood NASCAR Whelen All American Series Super Late Models (75-Laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Mike Holden, 2. Tyler Tanner, 3. Daniel Moore, 4. Andy Sole, 5. Doni Wanat, 6. Jason Kooy, 7. Jason Tarasenko, 8. Scott LaCross, 9. Molly Helmuth, 10. Brandon Scheiber, 11. Jeff Knight, 12. John Bender, 13. Shane Sawin, 14. Naima Lang, DNS. John Boyatt, DNS. Tyler Baker

Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stocks (30-laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Roger Drake, 2. Jim Foti, 3. Steve Ptacek, 4. Darrell Lutovsky, 5. Mike Marthaller, 6. Kevin Compton, 7. Kenny Erickson, 8. John McCourt, 9. Brent Rohrer, 10. Chad Fitzpatrick

Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stocks (30-laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Bobby DeYoung, 2. Eric Whittaker, 3. Devin Kessler, 4. Trenton Moriarity, 5. Andrew Schukar, 6. Brad Thomas, 7. Kenny Schukar, 8. Travis Woodward, 9. AJ Verdugo, 10. Sheridan Horn-Vincent, 11. Nat Barber, 12. Douglas Hinds, 13. Brian Taylor, 14. Scott Burby

Northwest Vintage Modified Series (30-laps 3/8-mile oval): 1. Devin Eierman, 2. Chuck Peterson, 3. Scott Rinkel, 4. Mike Clother, 5. Kyten Jones, 6. Robert Rux, 7. John Mustered, 8. Jim Palmer, 9. Bobby Wheeler Jr.

Super Stock Figure 8’s (25-laps Fig 8): 1. Quenton Borreson, 2. Steve Peters, 3. Chuck Widdis, 4. Devin Jenkins, 5. John Hilburn, 6. Bruce Wilson, 7. Doug Delfel, 8. Brian Little

Holden Wins Evergreen SLM Opener
Return to Action Lands Veteran Driver in Victory Lane
Evergreen Speedway PR